My last leg of “Eat, Pray and Love” – New Delhi, India.

My life is pretty much influenced by Elizabeth Gilbert. But the main difference is that I have to fork my own money (Alas!). To be frank, it is a real deal when it comes to do the Gilbert’s routine.

Where have I been?
1. Eat till I drop in Florence, Italy –> All the pizza, carbonara, gelatto are just delicious.
2. Pray that I will not get robbed in New Delhi, India –> it is not that bad after all.
3. Love of being pampered in Bali, Indonesia –> seriously, who can detest Bali?

For the first timer in New Delhi, the feeling can get spiral downwards because of the traffic and the crowd. That is the direct result from the world’s second most populous country, with current standing at 1.2 billion people. The traffic is pretty conducive for the filming of the newest “fast (maybe not so) and furious” with no side mirrors at all. The noise of the car horns, the dusk of the pollution, the pace of the rickshaw are the Delhi’s phenomenon.

I heard a lot of “amazing” infrastructure in Delhi before I went there for myself. Overall, I’m totally amazed with the historic monuments. They might not be in the world’s wonder, but it is enough to give me a mixture of awe.

May I guide you through my path?

Rakab Ganj
Bare foot and covered hair are required for a visit.

Rashtrapati Bhawan
The Rashtrapati Bhavan is the official residence of the President of India. Currently is the biggest residence of any state leader.

India Gate
This monument has been built as a memorial for the Indian soldiers who died in World War I. India Gate is one of the icons in India.

Birla Temple
Not a huge temple, but attracts thousands of devotees on the Hindu festivals.

Jama Masjid
The largest mosque in India and a must-see while in Delhi.

Red Fort
A red sandstone castle which was built by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan (who also built Taj Mahal). Remember the terrorist attack in 2000? Red fort was the target!

Some tips to share for your future plan:

1. Don’t display too much flesh. Or else you can choose to act like Angelina Jolie in the red carpet or shoo away the unintentional paparazzi! (Seriously they behave like a professional).

2. Roaming around in the local ways. I couldn’t be more in love with the rickshaw. It’s cheap, fast and all over the streets!

3. Bargaining technique is a must. It is time to sharpen your sales skill in India to get the best deal!

4. Reject all kind of helps if you can do it by yourself. A lot of them want something in return, be independent!

5. Pay utter respect to the religious routine. Join them even if you are not one of them. I like the way they guide me through their ritual even they know I’m not Hindi or Muslim.

6. Don’t ask them questions with a “yes-no” answer. Because you will get confused yourselves (message me for more explanation)

7. Be ultra cautious when squeezing yourselves among the crowd. Pickpocket is everywhere, carry yourselves well!

8. Some smells can either be nice or nauseous. I like the flowery smell in India but not very keen of the wet market.

9. The food is not for everybody. Be alert of the location, access the condition and attack the cuisine!

10. Remember the phrase “I’m not a first timer” and act confidently or else you will get ripped off easily, especially for taxis

11. Don’t laugh and stare at the bro-mance! Holding hands is normal for guy to guy, nothing to be ashamed of.

12. Beggar is a common sight too. But in a mild manner.

13. Tourist spots can get crazily expensive for foreigner. Ex: Rupee 10 for local and Rupee 250 for foreigner for the entrance fee to Red Fort.

14. Matchmaking is pretty common too.

All in all, I still enjoy the hustle and bustle of Delhi. And special thanks to Ms Indit for sleeping in the rickshaw.

Leave a Reply

